Skip to main content

How to deactivate or delete Facebook on iPhone, Android

Facebook app on phone and how to deactivate

Are you thinking about deactivating your Facebook® account? Whether you're tired of seeing photos of your ex, can't stand your uncle's news feed, or no longer use the site, there are some simple ways to say goodbye to the social network.

Here at Asurion, we help you get the most out of your tech—whether you want to stop Facebook from draining your phone's battery or are looking for ways to conserve your data. Here's how to deactivate your Facebook account—both temporarily and permanently—on iPhone® and Android™.

What's the difference between deactivating and deleting your Facebook account?

If you're considering quitting Facebook, it's important to decide if you want to temporarily pause or permanently erase your account.

If you just want to take a break, try temporarily deactivating your account. You'll basically be hiding your profile without erasing any of your old posts. If you want to quit Facebook for good, you'll need to delete your account.

If you deactivate your account:

  • You can reactivate anytime and access all your photos, videos, and friends.
  • People can't see your timeline or search for you.
  • Some information you've sent to other users (like messages) will still be viewable by those users.
  • If you use your Facebook account to log in to third-party apps, you will not be able to access any information or purchases while your account is deactivated.
  • Pages that only you control will be deactivated. If you want your page to remain active, you can give someone else control.
  • You can still chat with friends on Messenger.

If you delete your account:

  • You can't regain access once it's deleted. (NOTE: There is a 30-day grace period in case you change your mind.)
  • Friends may still be able to see messages you've sent after your account has been deleted.
  • Some data, such as log records, may remain in Facebook's database but will no longer be connected to you.
  • If you use your Facebook account to log in to third-party apps, you won't be able to log in to them or access your information.
  • Pages that only you control will be deleted. If you want your page to remain active, you can give someone else control.

One important thing to remember: If you want to remove Facebook from your phone but don't want to deactivate your account, you may want to just delete the app on your device.

How to download your Facebook account information

Before you permanently delete your account, it's a good idea to download all the material associated with it—you won't have access once your account is gone. You'll need to request a copy of your information from Facebook, which can take several days for you to receive. Here's what to do:

  1. Open the Facebook app and log in to your account.
  2. On the Home page, tap the three-lined menu button in the top-right corner for Android (or bottom-right corner for iPhone) of the screen.
  3. Go to Settings & Privacy, then tap Settings.
  4. Go to the Your Information section and tap Download Your Information.
  5. In the Request Copy tab, tap the button next to each data category you want to download.
  6. Choose a date range, format, and quality from the dropdown menus. Tap Create File to begin the process and follow the onscreen instructions. In the Available Copies tab (next to Request Copy in Step 5) you should see your pending info request.
  7. Once the info is ready, tap the Download button to download the data to your device.

How to temporarily deactivate your Facebook account on iPhone

  1. Open the Facebook app on your iPhone and log in to your account.
  2. On the Home page, tap the three-lined menu button in the bottom-right corner of the screen.
  3. Go to Settings & Privacy, then tap Settings.
  4. Tap Account ownership and control > Deactivation and deletion.
  5. Select Deactivate account and tap Continue to Account Deactivation, then follow the instructions to complete the process.

How to permanently deactivate your Facebook account on iPhone

  1. Open the Facebook app on your iPhone and log in to your account.
  2. On the Home page, tap the three-lined menu button in the bottom-right corner of the screen.
  3. Go to Settings & Privacy, then tap Settings.
  4. Tap Account ownership and control > Deactivation and deletion.
  5. Select Delete account and tap Continue to Account Deletion, then follow the instructions to delete your account permanently.

How to temporarily deactivate your Facebook account on Android

  1. Open the Facebook app on your Android phone and log in to your account.
  2. On the Home page, tap the three-lined menu button in the top-right corner of the screen.
  3. Go to Settings & Privacy, then tap Settings.
  4. Tap Account ownership and control >Deactivation and deletion.
  5. Select Deactivate account and tap Continue to Account Deactivation, then follow the instructions to complete the process.

How to permanently deactivate your Facebook account on Android

  1. Open the Facebook app on your Android phone and log in to your account.
  2. On the Home page, tap the three-lined menu button in the top-right corner of the screen.
  3. Go to Settings & Privacy, then tap Settings.
  4. Tap Account ownership and control > Deactivation and deletion.
  5. Select Delete account and tap Continue to Account Deletion, then follow the instructions to delete your account permanently.

How to reactivate your Facebook account

If you've temporarily deactivated your account—not deleted it—you can get it up and running again simply by logging back into your account. You'll need your email address or the mobile number you use for your login, plus your password. Easy, right?

Protect your phone

For more than 25 years, Asurion has helped 300 million customers protect, connect, and enjoy the tech they love most. And smartphones are no exception. Your life is on your device, make sure it’s protected. Learn more about Asurion phone insurance plans today.


*The Asurion® trademarks and logos are the property of Asurion, LLC. All rights reserved. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners. Asurion is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by any of the respective owners of the other trademarks appearing herein.*

SHARE THIS ARTICLE

When tech breaks, we fix it

No matter the issue, our experts can repair your broken device fast. Make an appointment or visit your local store today.

Schedule a repair