Skip to main content

How to send in your damaged phone after receiving a replacement

So, you've just received your replacement device from Asurion and are wondering, do I have to send back my damaged phone? The answer: yes. When you receive your replacement device, you are required to return your damaged device with the prepaid shipping mailer that comes with the replacement. Don't forget and don't wait, because not returning your old device after 10-15 days, depending on your contractual agreement, could result in non-return charges.

Before sending in your damaged iPhone®, Samsung®, or other Android™ phone after receiving a replacement, you'll first need to take a few steps like backing up your data and turning off all locks and passcodes. But don't worry—we're about to walk you through the process. If your phone is lost or stolen, you can go ahead and skip to the last section of this article for further instructions.

Why mail your damaged device to Asurion after receiving a replacement?

If you've already received a replacement device from Asurion, you might be thinking you're done – but there's one more important step. You are required to mail your original device back to Asurion, and here's why:

  • You will be charged a fee if you do not send in your original device.
  • Our contract requires you to return your old phone when you get a replacement.
  • It's Earth-friendly—we recycle the device for you.

Ready to get started? First, there are a few simple steps you need to take. We've included instructions for both iPhones and Android devices, such as the Samsung Galaxy® and Google Pixel™.

Back up your data

When you send us your original device, you'll probably want to keep all your data (photos, apps, contacts, etc.). You can do that by backing up your original device and then restoring your data when you get your new device. Here's how:

How to back up your iPhone and Android phone

Once you receive your replacement device, restoring from your backup is simple:

How to restore iPhone from backup

How to restore Android phone from backup

Turn off all locks and passcodes

Our experts cannot recycle parts from your original device unless you've unlocked it and turned off all passcodes for lock screens and other features. If you're using a company phone, you may need to have your administrator turn off any corporate locks, such as Samsung Knox™ Manage. Here's how to remove passcodes, fingerprint scanners, and facial recognition for Samsung and other Android phones, as well as how to disable Touch ID® and Face ID® for iPhones:

How to turn off Face ID on iPhone

How to disable Touch ID on iPhone

How to remove lock screen passcodes on Android phones

Turn off Factory Reset Protection and Find My iPhone

To avoid fees, you must turn off Find My on your iPhone or Factory Reset Protection and Find My Device on your Android. Our team cannot recycle your original device if these are left on. Here's what to do:

How to turn off Find My iPhone

How to turn off Find My Device on Android

How to turn off Factory Reset Protection on Android

Remove accessories and SIM cards

The last step to prepare your phone before mailing it to us is to remove all accessories such as cases, chargers, and styluses, as these will not be returned to you.

Also, make sure to remove all SIM cards, SD cards, or any other type of memory card and store them in a safe place. Please don't send the SIM card in the package with your device—it will not be returned to you.

How to remove the SIM card from your iPhone

How to remove the SIM card from your Android device

What if my device is lost or stolen?

If your device is lost or stolen, you're also required to turn on Lost Mode for Apple® or Lock and Erase for Samsung and other Android devices before we can start the replacement process.

If your device was lost or stolen and is later found, you should contact Asurion and return it immediately by using the pre-addressed, pre-paid return label included with the replacement device.

How to turn on Lost Mode for Apple using iCloud:

  1. Go to icloud.com/find.
  2. Sign in with your Apple ID.
  3. Click All Devices and choose your missing device from the list.
  4. Select Lost Mode.
  5. Click Done.

How to turn on lock & erase for Samsung and other Android phones

For this to work, your lost or stolen device needs to be turned on, signed into a Google account, visible on Google Play™, and have Location and Find My Device turned on.

  1. Go to google.com/android/find and sign in to your Google account.
  2. If you have more than one phone, click the lost phone at the top of the screen.
  3. If your lost phone has more than one user profile, sign in with a Google account that is on the main profile.
  4. Click Enable lock & erase.
  5. Select Secure device to lock it or Erase device to delete your data.

Want to know more about how to protect your personal information when your device is lost or stolen? Check out our guide.

*The Asurion® trademarks and logos are the property of Asurion, LLC. All rights reserved. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners. Asurion is not affiliated with, sponsored by, or endorsed by any of the respective owners of the other trademarks appearing herein.*

SHARE THIS ARTICLE